2ClassNotes.com - Home
Banner Here




Madhya Pradesh


Rani Durgavati Vishwavidyalaya


Search for



Rani Durgavati Vishwavidyalaya, Jabalpur

Saraswati Vihar, Pachpedi, Jabalpur, Madhya Pradesh [India]


12/17/2009 Print This Page Tell - A - Friend Add to Wish List Report Error

Yes, I am a member. No, I am not a member yet.

Rani Durgavati Vishwavidyalaya, formerly University of Jabalpur, enjoys the 'Accredited' status and has been graded as 'B++' by the National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC), Bangalore on 12.11.2002. This grading is based on the institutional score between 80-85% awarded by the Peer Team of the NAAC and approved by its Executive Council and is valid for five academic years i.e. upto 2006-2007. The grading evidences the academic excellence and places the University among the best in central India. The University fraternity i.e students, teachers and employees have worked to earn this reputation and we are proud of it.

The University was constituted and established on 12th June, 1956 under the Jabalpur University Act, 1956 (Act No.22 of 1956) with territorial jurisdiction over Jabalpur revenue district, and shifted to its present location at Saraswati Vihar, Pachpedi, Jabalpur in 1961. Its present campus is spread over 99.63 acres of scenic beauty and environment friendly surroundings and accommodates an Administrative Block, Art Faculty building, Teaching and Research buildings of Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics, Bio-Science, System Science and Physical education departments. It also has a Central Library, Computer Center, USIC, University Institute of Management, University Law Department and also other facilities like boys and girls hostels-one each, University Health Center, University Guest House, Canteen and residential quarters. Other facilities like Post Office, Bank and Printing Press also exist within the campus. It is, therefore, possible to say that the university campus is a city within the City of Jabalpur.

The Academic Staff College of the University is one of the best in the country. It has so far conducted 63 orientation courses and 180 refresher courses in various subjects. Over 7300 teachers have been benefited by these courses. It has also organised an ASC Directors' meet in the year 2001 which was chaired by the then UGC Chairman Dr. Hari Gautam. It has recently moved into its own building constructed with UGC's assistance. In the field of distance education also, this University is making rapid strides. Nine study centres have already been established and many more are coming in near future.

The University was renamed as Rani Durgavati Vishwavidyalaya on 7.6.1983 by Act No. 23 of 1983 to honour the well known valorous Gond Queen of Garha Mandla. It was reconstituted under M.P. Vishwavidyalaya Adhiniyam, 1973 and given jurisdiction over Jabalpur, Mandla, Seoni, Balaghat and Narsinghpur districts in 1995 by Act No. 28 of 1995. With the formation of Katni and Dindori as separate revenue districts, the number of revenue districts under the University have increased to seven. Its activities now spread over an area of 46556 sq. km. having a population of 8.27 millions according to 2001 Census. The area is mostly rural & tribal consisting of 76% of its population. The literacy rate in the area is only 51.6% Population of SC/ST members is 14%. Of seven revenue districts, Mandla and Dindori are, in the main, tribal districts.

Departments and Courses:

  • Department of Adult & Continuing Education

    • M.A. Population Education

    • M.A. Rural Development

  • Department of Biological Sciences

    • M.Phil Bio science

    • M.Phil Botany

    • M.Sc. Bio chemistry

    • M.Sc. Bio science

    • M.Sc. Botany

    • M.Sc. Micro Biology

  • Department of Chemical Technology

    • M.Phil Chemistry

  • Department of Chemistry

    •  M.Phil Chemistry

    • M.Sc. Chemistry

    • M.Sc. Chemistry

    • Ph.D Chemistry

    • Ph.D Chemistry

  • Department of Computer Science

    • MCA Computer Applications

  • Department of Economics

    • M.A. Economics

    • M.Phil Economics

    • M.B.E. Economics

    • M.I.B. Economics

  • Department of Education

    • B.Ed. Education

  • Department of English and Foreign Languages

    • M.A. English

    • M.Phil English

    • Ph.D English

  • Department of Hindi

    • M.A. Hindi

    • M.Phil Hindi

  • Department of History

    • M.A. History

    • M.Phil History

  • Department of Journalism and Mass Communication

    • B.J.C. Journalism & Mass Communication

    • M.J.C. Journalism & Mass Communication

  • Department of Law

    • L.L.B. Law

    • LL.M. Law

  • Department of Philosophy

    • M.A. Philosophy

    • M.Phil Philosophy

    • Ph.D Philosophy

  • Department of Physical Education

    • B.P.Ed Physical Education

    • M.P.Ed. Physical Education

  • Department of Political Science

    • Diploma Programmes Public Administration

    • M.A. Political Science

    • Ph.D Political Science

  • Department of Sanskrit

    • M.A. Pali

    • M.A. Prakrit

    • M.A. Sanskrit

    • M.Phil Pali

    • M.Phil Prakrit

    • M.Phil Sanskrit

  • Department of System Science

    • M.Sc. System Sciences

  • Department of Sociology

    • M.A. Sociology

    • M.Phil Sociology

  • Department of Statistics

    • M.Sc. Statistics

  • Department of Yoga

    • Certificate Course Yoga

    • P.G. Diploma Yoga


12/17/2009 Print This Page Tell - A - Friend Add to Wish List Report Error

Related Words:

National Assessment and Accreditation Council, NAAC, Jabalpur University, Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics, Bio-Science, System Science, Physical Education Departments, Central Library, Computer Center, USIC, University Institute of Management, University Law Department, UGC Chairman, Dr. Hari Gautam, Queen of Garha Mandla, M.P. Vishwavidyalaya Adhiniyam, Jabalpur, Mandla, Seoni, Balaghat, Narsinghpur, Population Education, Rural Development, Foreign Languages, Mass Communication, Department of Yoga




New UserForgot Password